WASHINGTON, D.C. – New federal assistance is available for Ohio agricultural producers in 22 northeastern and southern Ohio counties who experienced crop or production loss due to a recent freeze. U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) today announced that the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated Ashtabula, Geauga, Jackson, Lake, Lorain, Portage, and Summit Counties as primary natural disaster counties after they experienced freezing weather conditions between January 2, 2014 and April 17, 2014. The USDA has also designated Ashland, Cuyahoga, Erie, Gallia, Huron, Lawrence, Mahoning, Medina, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Stark, Trumbull, Vinton, and Wayne Counties as contiguous disaster counties.

“Ohio producers whose livelihoods are threatened by no fault of their own rely on the FSA’s emergency loan program to manage risk on their farms and continue to provide a reliable food supply for Ohio and the world,” said Brown. “This federal assistance will help them rebuild and get back on their feet.”

To read the full article, click the link below.