DAYTON — Public transit systems in Montgomery, Greene and Miami counties will get nearly $22.3 million in federal stimulus money, according to U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio.

The award amounts released on Thursday, March 5, by the Federal Transit Administration will cover capital costs, primarily buses, for Greater Dayton Regional Transit Authority, the Greene County Transit Board and Miami County Public Transit.

"The three transit authorities have deferred a lot of their capital acquisitions at a time when the ridership has been up and people have been looking to ride the buses. This is a great opportunity," said Donald Spang, executive director of the Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission.

To read the rest of this article, please click the source link above