Senators introduce bipartisan Ukraine resolution


A powerful bipartisan group of senators are introducing a resolution on Wednesday afternoon condemning Russia’s intervention into Ukraine and warning of the consequences if Russia does not stand down.

The group of 11 senators “demands” that Russia withdraw from the Crimean Peninsula, release “besieged” Ukrainian forces in Crimea, accept a observer mission to Crimea to monitor the situation and “seriously engage” Ukraine in a political and diplomatic dialogue.

“Failure to do so or any additional military action against other areas of Ukraine will lead to swift and significant consequences in the Russian Federation’s relations with the United States and those nations who share our views,” the senators say in the resolution, a copy of which was obtained by POLITICO.

The resolution was authored by Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin of Illinois. He was joined by Sens. Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Mark Kirk (R-Ill.) and John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), a member GOP leadership.

To read the full article, please click the source link below:

Senators introduce bipartisan Ukraine resolution »