United States Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) today received the President’s Award from the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) for his work on the 2008 Farm Bill. The award, which was presented at the NCGA’s biannual Corn Congress in Washington, is given each year to a single member of Congress who has actively worked and raised awareness on grower issues. Brown is the first Ohioan to serve on the Senate Agriculture Committee in 40 years.

“I am proud to have worked with farmers from Ohio and throughout the Midwest to demand programs that protect farmers while reforming our agriculture policy,” said Brown. “The National Corn Growers Association and the thousands of farmers they represent have shown true leadership, vision, and responsiveness to the needs of rural America throughout the 2008 Farm Bill debate. I am honored to receive this award recognizing our shared success in the 2008 farm bill and look forward to our future work together on issues important to rural America.”

To read the rest of this article, please click here.