CINCINNATI —Cincinnati and southwest Ohio will see a considerable investment of federal funds to spur manufacturing growth.

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker announced the first 12 communities that will be designated Manufacturing Communities as part of the second phase of the Investing in Manufacturing Communities Partnership launched by the Obama administration last fall.

One of the 12 is the Southwestern Ohio Aerospace Region, led by the city of Cincinnati, the city of Dayton, REDI Cincinnati and the Dayton Development Coalition.

The Commerce Department said the region along Interstate 75 includes 27 counties stretching into Northern Kentucky.

"Establishing a regional aerospace project that combines the aviation history of Dayton with the aeronautical engineering legacy of Cincinnati will help attract new jobs to southwest Ohio and increase the overall viability of the aerospace industry in the state," Sen. Sherrod Brown said last month while promoting the region. "The region’s military presence, top-tier universities, and vibrant private research sector make this area ideal for this type of federal investment.”

To read the full article, click the link below.