WASHINGTON, D.C. – A Hancock County farmer was named to a U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) advisory board today. U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) announced that John B. Motter, from Jenera, was appointed to serve on the United Soybean Board. Motter’s three-year term will begin in December. 

“Mr. Motter’s leadership and expertise will make him a great addition to the Soybean Board,” Brown said. “Ohio’s representation on the board is critical to Ohio consumers and soybean producers throughout our state.”

USDA Sec. Tom Vilsack selected the appointees from nominations submitted by Qualified State Soybean Boards.  The United Soybean Board is authorized under the Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act to develop and administer a coordinated program of promotion, research, and nutrition education. 

One in seven Ohio jobs is related to the food and agriculture industry and Brown, who serves as Chairman of the Subcommittee on Jobs, Rural Economic Growth and Energy Innovation, is the first Ohioan on the Senate Agriculture Committee in more than 40 years.

More than 90 days after the Senate passed a five-year, bipartisan farm bill – and just six days before the 2008 farm bill expires – Brown joined Ohioans to call on the House to pass a five-year farm bill. On June 21st the Senate passed a bipartisan, five-year farm bill, the Agriculture Reform, Food and Jobs Act, but that the House has yet to act. Provisions Brown authored would save taxpayers $23 billion, while creating jobs and boosting rural development. Here are some provisions Brown inserted in the farm bill.