WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) today announced that $692,000 was awarded to the Ohio Department of Transportation to purchase two buses for local transit authorities. The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Transit Administration Fiscal Year 2010 funds will be used to purchase one bus for the Washington-Morgan Community Action bus line.

“A new bus can provide additional convenience and safety for school children, workers, and retirees who depend one of Ohio’s public transportation systems,” Brown said. “Thanks to these resources, the residents of Washington County can travel in safe, updated and wheelchair accessible buses.”

The Washington-Morgan Community Action Bus Line operates the public transit system in Washington County on behalf of the Washington County Commissioners and the City of Marietta.

The Ohio Clean & Green Statewide Bus Replacement Program will also use this grant for one bus in Akron.