WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) today announced that $738,977 has been awarded to fire departments in several cities in southwest Ohio by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

“Our first responders put their lives on the line every day across Ohio,” said Brown. “These funds ensure that firefighters in southwest Ohio have the resources they need to perform their jobs safely.”

Each city’s fire department in southwest Ohio will use the federal funds for operational and safety equipment updates or vehicle acquisition. The list below details southwest Ohio grants recipients, amounts and allocations.

Operations and Safety

?    Port William Fire Department, Port William: $103,832
?    Rossburg Volunteer Fire Department, Rossburg: $11,755
?    Huber Heights Fire Division, Huber Heights: $237,338
?    Marysville Division of Fire, Marysville: $34,200
?    Forest Park Fire Department, Forest Park: $60,107
?    Elmwood Place Fire Department, Elmwood Place: $41,325

Vehicle Acquisition

?    Marshall Township Fire Department, Hillsboro: $250,420

According to FEMA, the Assistance to Firefighter Grants are used to help firefighters and other first responders obtain critically needed equipment, protective gear, emergency vehicles, training, and other resources needed to protect public and emergency personnel from fire and related hazards. Since 2004, nearly $2.75 billion in grant money has been awarded to first responder organizations.
# # #