WASHINGTON, D.C. – New federal assistance is available for Ohio farmers and agricultural producers in nine southern Ohio counties who experienced crop or production loss due to severe weather this Spring. U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) today announced that the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated nine southern Ohio counties as disaster areas due to excessive rain and flash flooding in May.

“Ohio producers whose livelihoods are threatened by no fault of their own deserve economic relief so they can replant and rebuild,” said Brown. “The USDA disaster designation will support southern Ohio farmers and our state’s largest industry.”

With this disaster designation, primary and contiguous counties are eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA) for emergency loans (EM) as well as the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program. USDA designated Gallia, Jackson, and Meigs Counties as primary counties and Athens, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, Scioto, and Vinton Counties as contiguous counties. For more information, contact a local FSA office or click here.

Brown is the first Ohioan to serve on both the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry and the Senate Appropriations Agriculture Subcommittee. Agriculture is still Ohio’s largest industry.