WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), and Tina Smith (D-MN) led all 50 Senate Democrats in introducing a Senate resolution recognizing June as LGBTQ Pride Month. The resolution highlights the contributions LGBTQ individuals have made to American society, notes several major milestones in the fight for equal treatment of LGBTQ Americans, and resolves to continue efforts to achieve full equality for LGBTQ individuals. The resolution also recognizes how the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic compounds the systemic inequality that LGBTQ people face in healthcare, employment, and housing systems in the United States, leading to a disparate impact on LGBTQ people.

“We must continue standing with our LGBTQ friends and neighbors – not just during the month of June, but year round,” said Senator Brown. “In celebrating LGBTQ Pride Month, we must remember that the fight for LGBTQ rights reached a turning point when opposition to brutal homophobic and transphobic police violence led to the Stonewall Uprising more than 50 years ago.  Even more so, LGBTQ people of color are on the front lines of an ongoing movement for civil rights. I hope all Americans will join me in celebrating the accomplishments and courage of the LGBTQ community, and commit themselves to continuing the fight for equality for all. This year, as we approach the 6-year anniversary of the Supreme Court ruling that guaranteed marriage equality, let’s recommit ourselves to achieving gender equality and social, economic, and racial justice.”

“Pride Month is an opportunity to celebrate the progress made in the fight for justice, equality and inclusion,” said Senator Feinstein. “At the same time we must recommit ourselves to combating hatred and bigotry in all its forms. Nobody should face discrimination because of who they are or who they love. Pride Month reminds us of that fact and that we can’t rest until true equality for all LGBTQ individuals is achieved.”

“This month—and all year round—we fight for equality for the LGBTQ+ community,” said Senator Smith. “The freedom to live and love openly is fundamental. Let’s celebrate Pride Month while recommitting ourselves to continuing the fight for justice and equality. I'm urging my colleagues in the Senate to find the moral courage to pass the long-overdue EQUALITY Act. And we need additional bold, united action to protect and defend LGBTQ+ rights to help ensure that everyone is safe and respected. I am proud to help lead this resolution.”

Brown introduced the first-ever Senate Pride Month Resolution in June 2017, after then President Trump broke the eight-year tradition of offering an official presidential proclamation recognizing June as Pride Month. This is the fifth year in a row that Brown has introduced the resolution. On June 1, President Biden issued a presidential proclamation recognizing June as Pride Month, the first time Pride Month has been recognized in the Oval Office since 2016. 

In 2019, Senate Democrats re-introduced the Equality Act, legislation to ensure civil rights laws prohibit discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity. The Equality Act would unequivocally ban discrimination in a host of areas, including employment, housing, public accommodations, jury service, access to credit, federal funding assistance, and education. 

Along with Sens. Brown, Feinstein, and Smith, the resolution was co-sponsored by all 50 Senate Democrats, including Sens. Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Ed Markey (D-MA), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Bob Casey (D- PA), Michael Bennett (D-CO), Tom Carper (D-DE), Angus King (I-ME), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Jon Tester (D-MT), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Patty Murray (D-WA), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Chris Coons (D-DE), Mark Warner (D-VA), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Gary Peters (D-MI), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Benjamin Cardin (D-MD), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Jack Reed (D-RI), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Reverend Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), and Mark Kelly (D-AZ).

 Full text of the resolution is available here

This year’s pride resolution has been endorsed by the Human Rights Campaign (HRC) and Equality Ohio.