Brown Helps Lead Charge to Overturn Trump Administration’s Controversial Dark Money Rule

Brown Joins Group of Senators in Effort to Shed Light More on Dark Money

WASHINGTON, DC – U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) today joined his colleagues in forcing a Senate vote to repeal a controversial new Trump Administration rule that allows dark money groups to hide the identities of their donors. Brown joined 30 of his fellow Senators in cosponsoring this legislation, which was introduced by Senators Jon Tester (D-MT) and Ron Wyden (D-OR). The Senators gained enough bipartisan support to pass this legislation and repeal the administration’s rule, which will shed more light on dark money in our political system. That resolution passed the Senate today by 50-49, and will now head to the House for a vote there.

After the U.S. Treasury Department and Internal Revenue Service announced in July that they would no longer require certain tax-exempt organizations to report the names of their major donors to the IRS, Democrats introduced a Resolution of Disapproval under the Congressional Review Act to overturn the controversial decision and bring more transparency and accountability to our democracy.

“It makes absolutely no sense that a local nonprofit has to disclose to the IRS those who give $5000 or more, but political dark money groups can receive hundreds of millions and keep it completely secret. Today’s action by the Senate is a key step in shedding more light on our campaign finance system, and reverse the Trump Administration’s efforts to keep dark money in the shadows,” said Brown.

Under the Congressional Review Act, members of Congress must introduce a disapproval resolution within 60 calendar days from when the final rule was issued. After 20 calendar days, the resolution can be discharged from Finance Committee without a Committee vote. At that point, a motion to proceed to the resolution may be made on the Senate floor, so long as it is supported, in writing, by at least 30 Senators.

You can read the Senators' Congressional Review Act Resolution HERE.