Brown Introduces Resolution to Restore Net Neutrality Rules Following FCC Vote

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Following today’s Federal Communications Commission  (FCC) vote to repeal net neutrality rules, U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) has introduced a resolution to undo today’s actions and restore the net neutrality rules. Today, the FCC gutted the 2015 Open Internet Order, which the D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals upheld in 2016. The Open Internet Order prohibited internet service providers from setting up internet fast and slow lanes and ensured they could not block or slow down internet traffic.

“Internet providers should not be able to slow down your internet access or charge you more based on the shows you watch, the teams you cheer for or your political views,” said Brown.  

Brown and several of his colleagues introduced a resolution of disapproval to rescind FCC Chairman Ajit Pai’s move and fully restore the Open Internet Order. CRA resolutions allow Congress to overturn regulatory actions at federal agencies with a simple majority vote in both chambers. In accordance with the Congressional Review Act (CRA), the Senators will formally introduce the resolution once the rule is submitted to both houses of Congress and published in the federal register. Congressman Mike Doyle (D-Penn.) plans to introduce a CRA resolution in the House of Representatives. A copy of the CRA can be found HERE.

Brown had requested the FCC delay today’s vote in two separate letters, available here and here.

Brown joined U.S. Sens. Ed Markey (D-MA), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii.), Richard Blumenthal (D–Conn.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) and Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.) to introduce the resolution.