WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) is leading a group of his Senate colleagues in introducing the first-ever Senate Resolution recognizing June as LGBTQ Pride Month. The resolution notes major milestones in the fight for equal treatment of LGBTQ Americans and resolves to continue efforts to achieve full equality for LGBTQ individuals. Today, June 28, marks the 48th anniversary of the Stonewall riots.

“We must always stand with our LGBTQ friends and neighbors – not just during the month of June, but year round,” said Brown. “I hope all Ohioans will join me in celebrating the accomplishments and courage of the LGBTQ community, and commit themselves to continuing the fight for equality for all.”

“Every June, we honor the resiliency and progress of the LGBTQ community with festivals, marches, and actions in Ohio and throughout the country,” said Alana Jochum, Executive Director of Equality Ohio. “This resolution sends a message to the community that the country recognizes the history and struggle of LGBTQ people. We greatly appreciate Senator Brown demonstrating that he stands with LGBTQ people and that they are deserving of full equality.”

“We are grateful to have Senator Brown as a leading voice for LGBTQ & HIV-positive Ohioans and to have a progressive voice that supports our work towards equitable health care for all,”  Peggy Anderson, COO, Equitas Health.

“Pride Month is an opportunity to celebrate the history, progress, diversity, and contributions of the LGBTQ community,” said HRC Government Affairs Director David Stacy. “And with 50 percent of LGBTQ Americans living in states without state non-discrimination laws, leaving them at risk of being fired, denied housing, or refused service simply because of who they are, it's is also an important time for the community to unite together with our allies and recommit to the progress we have yet to achieve. We thank Senator Brown for his leadership on this resolution that lifts up the importance of Pride Month.”

U.S. Sens. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Al Franken (D-MN), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Patty Murray (D-WA), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Tom Carper (D-DE), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Chris Coons (D-DE), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Ed Markey (D-MA), Cory Booker (D-CT), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Kamala Harris (D-CA), and Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-NV) are also sponsoring the legislation.

Brown is also a sponsor of the Equality Act, legislation to expand civil rights laws to prohibit discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity. The Equality Act would prohibit discrimination in public accommodations, education, federal financial assistance, employment, housing, credit determinations and federal jury service. Brown has also introduced legislation to protect children from so-called “conversation therapy.” The Therapeutic Fraud Prevention Act would ban conversion therapy and condemn it as misguided and harmful.

Full text of the resolution is available here.