Brown Named Co-Chair of Congressional-Executive Commission on China

Senator Has Served on Watchdog Commission Since 2002

WASHINGTON, D.C. – This week, U.S. Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid appointed U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) co-chair of the Congressional-Executive Commission on China (CECC). Brown has served on the commission since 2002 and will replace retired Senator Byron Dorgan (D-ND) in the co-chair role.

“Our relationship with China affects our economic security and our national security. The Congressional-Executive Commission on China serves as a critical watchdog on Chinese political freedom, human rights, and the development of the rule of law,” Brown said. “The increased economic activity and trade resulting from a decade of permanent, normal trade relations with China has yet to translate into a free and full democracy for the Chinese people, which is why the work of the CECC is so important. I’m honored to serve as to co-chair of the CECC, and look forward to working with my fellow Commission members to grow our relationship with China while holding it accountable for its repression of political activists and ethnic minorities.”

According to the CECC, Congress created the Congressional Executive Commission on China (CECC) in 2000 to monitor China's compliance with international human rights standards, to encourage the development of the rule of law in the PRC, and to establish and maintain a list of victims of human rights abuses in China. The Commission submits an annual report to the President and Congress on these subjects.

The Commission comprises nine Senators, nine members of the House of Representatives and five senior Administration officials. The Senate Majority Leader, in consultation with Senate Minority Leader, names the Senate's commissioners. Likewise, the Speaker of the House, in consultation with the House Minority Leader, chooses the House members of the Commission. The President appoints the five Executive Branch commissioners.


Press Contact

(202) 224-3978