WASHINGTON, D.C.—A resolution introduced by U.S. Sens. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) and Rob Portman (R-OH) congratulating the University of Akron Men’s Soccer Team for winning the NCAA Division I national soccer championship was passed by the Senate last night. The University of Akron beat the University of Louisville 1-0 at the University of California at Santa Barbara’s Harder Stadium in December.

 “The Akron men’s soccer team put the entire Zips athletic program on the map with their nail-biting victory over UC-Santa Barbara in December,” Brown said. “The entire State of Ohio—and now the Senate—stands behind the Zips players and coaches who brought home the national championship. Their win was a reminder that hard work and dedication truly does pay off. Congratulations to every member of the Zips Men’s Soccer program and its devoted fans and supporters.”

“I would like to congratulate Coach Porter and the entire Zips men’s soccer program for their historic win over Louisville to claim the school’s first national championship.  The College Cup trophy is a true testament to the long hours, hard work and fighting spirit the Zips showed all season.  Congratulations to the entire Zips team, their fans, the athletic department, support staff and the Akron community and I wish them continued success in the future,” said Portman.

 Scott Caldwell, a sophomore midfielder from Braintree, Massachusetts, scored the deciding goal in the 78th minute on an overpowering shot from 15 yards out. Caldwell was named offensive player of the Final Four while Zips defender Kofi Sarkodie, from Huber Heights, Ohio earned defensive player of the Final Four. Led by Head Coach Caleb Porter, the Akron Zips returned to the National Championship game one year after losing the 2009 College Cup final to the University of Virginia in a shootout following a scoreless tie.

 The full text of the resolution is below.

 A resolution celebrating the outstanding athletic accomplishments of the University of Akron for winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Men’s Soccer Championship.

 Whereas, on December 12, 2010, the University of Akron men’s soccer team, known as the Zips, won the College Cup in Santa Barbara, California, becoming the first team to win a national title in the school’s history;

 Whereas the Zips finished their historic season with a record of 22-1-2 with a victory over the previously undefeated and top-ranked University of Louisville Cardinals;

 Whereas the men’s soccer team has become a symbol of pride and success to the University of Akron and its surrounding communities in Northeast Ohio;

 Whereas the University of Akron men’s soccer Head Coach Caleb Porter has won one national title and taken his team to two national championship games in the last two years;

 Whereas midfielder Scott Caldwell was named the most outstanding offensive player of the College Cup;

 Whereas defender Kofi Sarkodie was named the most outstanding defensive player of the College Cup;

 Whereas forward and midfielder Darlington Nagbe is a finalist for the Hermann Trophy, which is awarded to the nation’s best collegiate soccer player;

 Whereas, all-time, there have been 44 All-Americans from the Akron men’s soccer team, including two from the 2010 season;

 Whereas, all-time, there have been 12 Academic All-Americans from the Akron men’s soccer team, including four from the 2010 season;

 Whereas the University of Akron athletic program strives to have their student-athletes complete their degrees and become contributing members of society;

 Whereas, each year, University of Akron student-athletes and coaches are involved in community service activities;

 Whereas, the University of Akron men’s soccer team is to be praised for their historic season of both athletic and academic accomplishments: Now be it

 Resolved, that the Senate –

(1)   Congratulates the University of Akron men’s soccer team for winning the NCAA Division I Men’s Soccer Championship;

(2)   Recognizes the University of Akron Athletic Program for its achievements in both sports and academics; and

(3)   That, upon adoption, the Secretary of the Senate shall prepare an official copy of this resolution for presentation to -

 (A)  The University of Akron for appropriate display;

(B)  The President of the University of Akron, Dr. Luis M. Proenza;

(C)  The head coach of the University of Akron men’s soccer team, Mr. Caleb Porter