Sen. Brown Announces Appointment of Steubenville Student to U.S. Naval Academy

Following Recommendation of Bipartisan Service Academy Selection Advisory Committee, Brown Nominated the Steubenville Resident for the Naval Academy in January

WASHINGTON, D.C. – A Steubenville student was recently accepted into a top military service academy. U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) today announced that the U.S. Naval Academy has extended an offer of appointment to Jefferson County Christian School senior Meadow Jackson. Brown nominated the Steubenville resident for the Naval Academy.

“Ohio schools are educating the young people who will become the next generation of military leaders. I am proud that Meadow has been offered the opportunity to attend one of our nation’s most prestigious institutions,” said Brown. “Ms. Jacksons’ family and the entire Steubenville community should be proud of this dynamic young woman, who embodies the integrity and courage needed to represent and uphold the values of our nation.”

Meadow is a senior at Jefferson County Christian School, where, in addition to maintaining a 3.85 GPA, she plays varsity volleyball, basketball and softball, serves as an officer in the French Club, and plays piano and sings in two different school bands. Meadow has also spent the last two summers volunteering at the AIM Women’s Center in Steubenville.

 Each year, Brown nominates up to 10 students for each slot at our nation’s service academies requiring congressional recommendations, including: the Air Force Academy; the Naval Academy; the Military Academy at West Point; and the Merchant Marine Academy. This year, because two openings were available at both the Air Force Academy and the Naval Academy, Brown nominated 20 students to those institutions. A nomination does not guarantee acceptance into a service academy. The Academy’s Admissions Board ultimately decides who receives an appointment.

 The nominations are based on the recommendation of a Service Academy Selection Advisory Committee assembled by Brown. This committee, comprised of former academy graduates, parents of academy attendees, and community leaders from throughout the state, conducted rigorous interviews before selecting the final candidates.


Press Contact

(202) 224-3978