Sen. Brown Announces More Than $399K to Bolster Firefighter Resources in Northeast Ohio

Funding will allow for Improvement in Preparedness and Response of Firefighters in Ashtabula, Cuyahoga, Lorain, Stark, and Trumbull Counties

WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) today announced that $399,098 has been awarded to eight northeast Ohio fire departments by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) Assistance to Firefighters Grants (AFG) program.

“Our first responders put their lives on the line every day across Ohio,” said Brown. “These funds ensure that firefighters in northeast Ohio have the equipment and resources they need to perform their jobs safely.”

The Assistance to Firefighters Grants (AFG) program is an integral component in the Department of Homeland Security’s effort to strengthen the nation’s general level of preparedness and capacity to respond to fire and related dangers. AFG awards grants to departments and EMS organizations that are not directly affiliated with a hospital in an effort to enhance their ability to protect the health and safety of the public.

The recipients are listed below:

Department Name



Lawrence Township Fire Department



Greentown Volunteer Fire Department



Oberlin Fire Department



Stow Fire Department



Macedonia Fire Department



Conneaut Fire Department



Fowler Volunteer Fire Department



Cleveland Heights Fire Department




Press Contact

(202) 224-3978