WASHINGTON, D.C. – Four southwest Ohio Fire Departments will receive new federal resources to improve operations safety and efficiency. U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) today announced that the Deer Park-Silverton Joint Fire District, Dayton Fire Department, Miamisburg Fire Department, and Middletown Division of Fire were awarded new fiscal year 2011 federal resources to through the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Assistance to Firefighters grant (AFG) program.

“Ohio’s first responders put their lives on the line to keep our communities, businesses, and families safe,” Brown said. “These new resources will enable the fire departments in southwest Ohio to do their jobs safely and provide a vital service for Ohioans.”

According to FEMA, the Assistance to Firefighter Grants (AFG) program helps to strengthen the nation’s overall level of preparedness and ability to respond to fire and related hazards.

Organization Name


Federal Grant Amount

Deer Park-Silverton Joint Fire District




Dayton Fire Department




Miamisburg Fire Department



Middletown Division of Fire