WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) congratulated the 19 Ohio schools that were named 2009 Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education (DOE) today. As a member of the Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) Committee, Brown is committed to providing every Ohioan with the opportunity to receive a quality education.

“I am proud that Ohio is home to 19 Blue Ribbon Schools,” Brown said. “These schools, and many others across our state, are setting a high bar for our students — who are proving to be among the best in the nation. A quality education is essential to ensuring the brightest possible future for Ohio students.”

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools that produce high academic outcomes or demonstrate dramatic gains in student achievement.

The principal and one teacher from each school will be invited to Washington, DC for the November 2 and 3 awards ceremony where they will receive a plaque and flag to signify their Blue Ribbon School status.

The list of 2009 Blue Ribbon Schools can be found below.

Columbiana High School                                            Columbiana

Chagrin Falls Intermediate School                             Chagrin Falls              
Horizon Science Academy Cleveland                        Cleveland
St Ignatius High School                                              Cleveland       
St Joseph High School                                                Cuyahoga Falls
St Paschal Baylon School                                           Highland Heights

Olentangy Liberty High School                                  Powell            

Willard Grizzell Middle School                                  Dublin            

St. Michael School                                                      Cincinnati                   
St Veronica Elementary School                                  Cincinnati                   

Central Primary School                                               Logan

Watson Elementary School                                         Youngstown  

Butler Elementary School                                           Butler 

Fairhope Elementary School                                       Louisville                   
Jackson High School                                                   Massillon                    
Lake Cable Elementary School                                   Canton                                   

Seton Catholic School                                                Hudson

South Lebanon Elementary School                            Maineville                  

Lura B. Kean Elementary School                               Wooster