Sen. Brown Delivers Keynote Address at Civil Rights Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Columbus

Second Annual Ohio Civil Rights Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at Ohio Statehouse Recognizes Outstanding Ohioans

COLUMBUS, OH. – U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) today delivered the keynote address at the Second Annual Ohio Civil Rights Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at the Ohio Statehouse. This annual program serves to recognize the importance of the civil rights movement and the continued efforts made by extraordinary individuals to improve the quality of life for all Ohioans.

“Ohio has long been home to freedom fighters. Ohioans were brave enough to offer refuge to freedom seekers in the 1860s and courageous enough to make crucial changes in the 1960s,” Brown said. “Today, Ohioans who continue to push toward progress because our work is not over.”

The Ohio Civil Rights Hall of Fame seeks to acknowledge the citizens who have left their mark in the State of Ohio through their tireless efforts in furthering civil and human rights in their communities. These distinguished individuals have served as beacons making significant strides in support of civil and human rights. Through their exemplary leadership they have helped to eliminate barriers to equal opportunity in Ohio as well as foster cultural awareness and understanding for a more just society.

 The 2010 honorees are: Avery Friedman, Dr. Frank W. Hale, Jr., Dr. Karla Irvine, William McCulloch, Eric Parks, Salvador Ramos, Rhonda Rivera, Ratanjit Sondhe, Dr. Marian Spencer, and Baldemar Velasquez.

# # #

Press Contact

(202) 224-3978