Sen. Brown Joins Bipartisan Resolution Condemning Russian Aggression In Ukraine

Senate Resolution Was Led by Sens. Dick Durbin and Roger Wicker

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Following the Russian military siege of Crimea, U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) today joined a bipartisan group of 11 Senators in a Resolution condemning Russia’s escalating aggression and called for an immediate withdrawal of Russian troops from the region. The Resolution also calls for a negotiated settlement and urges the Obama Administration and the European Union to utilize a range of economic and diplomatic tools to help foster peace in Ukraine.      

“Russia must respect Ukraine's sovereignty and immediately withdraw its troops from Ukrainian soil,” Brown said. “Ukraine's people have a right to decide their own future without interference from Russia. The United States and international community should utilize all diplomatic and economic options to address this act of aggression and secure the rights and borders of Ukraine.

The Resolution is led by U.S. Sens. Dick Durbin (D-IL) and Roger Wicker (R-MS) and cosponsored by Sens. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Susan Collins (R-ME), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Chris Murphy (D-CT), John Barrasso (R-WY), Mark Warner (D-VA), James Inhofe (R-OK), and Mark Kirk (R-IL).  

A link to the Resolution can be found: HERE