Sen. Brown Joins White House Officials to Announce $30 Million to Establish New, First-Of-Its-Kind Manufacturing Institute in Youngstown

Brown Led Letter in Support of Ohio-Pennsylvania TechBelt Receiving New, Competitively-Awarded Grant; Delivered Keynote Speech at Cleveland Workshop on Building a National Network for Manufacturing Innovation

YOUNGSTOWN, OH—At M7 Technologies today, U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) joined senior White House and Administration officials to announce a $30 million grant from the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) to establish a new, first-of-its-kind manufacturing institute in Youngstown known as the National Additive Manufacturing Innovation Institute (NAMII). Additive manufacturing technology is a type of 3-D printing where a digital model can be used to make parts and components.

“We know how to make things in Ohio. From Lordstown to Brook Park to Avon Lake, cities across Northeast Ohio's techbelt make up a critical part of our state’s manufacturing backbone,” Brown said. “With this award to establish the National Additive Manufacturing Innovation Institute, Northeast Ohio will be able to further solidify its status as a hub for manufacturing innovation, helping to spur economic development both here and across our state.”

The Youngstown-based institute will be the first pilot of the National Network for Manufacturing Institutes. Brown led a Congressional letter of support for the Cleveland-Youngstown-Pittsburgh TechBelt to receive the competitively-awarded grant, and last month in Cleveland, he delivered the keynote address at a workshop on building the National Network for Manufacturing Innovation. In that speech, Brown cited his support for Ohio-based institutions to carry out the Defense Department’s proposal to establish an Additive Manufacturing Innovation Institute. The $30 million award from the DoD will be matched by $40 million in private funds from the award recipients.

In June, Brown joined the Youngstown/Warren Regional Chamber of Commerce to deliver the welcome address to the TechBelt Export Summit at the D.D. & and Velma Davis Center. Brown’s office worked with the Regional Chamber to organize and plan the event, which was aimed at helping businesses in the Cleveland-Pittsburgh region increase their export sales by providing information about helpful resources for businesses that are interested in exporting. 

Described as “Congress' leading proponent of American Manufacturing,” Brown—a member of the Senate Manufacturing Caucus—has introduced a package of key legislative proposals aimed at bolstering the competiveness of U.S. manufacturers and boosting domestic manufacturing. Last year, along with Sen. Mark Kirk (R-IL), Brown introduced The National Manufacturing Strategy Act of 2011. This bipartisan legislation would require the Commerce Secretary to conduct a comprehensive analysis of the nation’s manufacturing sector and submit to Congress a National Manufacturing Strategy (NMS). The goals of the NMS are to increase manufacturing jobs, identify emerging technologies to strengthen U.S. competitiveness, and strengthen the manufacturing sectors in which the U.S. is most competitive.  In 2010, Brown led a bipartisan group of 10 U.S. Senators in a letter to President Barack Obama urging the adoption of a national manufacturing strategy.

According to the White House, the NAMII will be led by the National Center for Defense Manufacturing and Machining in Latrobe, Pennsylvania, with company, educational, and nonprofit partners including:

40 Companies: Allegheny Technologies, AlphaMicron, Applied Systems and Technology Transfer, Autodesk, Boeing, Catalyst Connection, Energy Industries of Ohio, ExOne, FMW Composites, General Dynamics, General Electric, Honeywell, IBM, Johnson Controls, Kennametal, Kent Displays, Laser Technology Assts, Lockheed Martin, Lubrizol, M-7 Technologies, MicroFab Technologies, Morris, Northrop Grumman, nScrypt, OSRAM Sylvania, Optomec, Oxford Performance Materials, Paramount Industries / 3D Systems, Parker Hannifin, Plextronix, POM, RTI, Ruger, Sciaky, Stratasys, Stratonics, Timken, Touchstone Research Lab, Westinghouse Nuclear, and Wohlers Associates.

9 Research Universities: Carnegie Mellon University, Case Western Reserve University, Kent State University, Lehigh University, Penn State University, Robert Morris University, University of Akron, University of Pittsburgh, and Youngstown State University

5 Community Colleges: Eastern Gateway Community College, Lorain County Community College, Northampton Community College, Penn College of Technology, and Westmoreland County Community College.

11 Non-Profit Organizations: Association for Manufacturing Technology, Ben Franklin Technology Partners, JumpStart Ohio, Manufacturing Advocacy and Growth Network, MT Connect, NorTech, National Digital Engineering and Manufacturing Consortium, Ohio Aerospace Institute, Robert C. Byrd Institute, the Youngstown Business Incubator, and the Society of Manufacturing Engineers.


Press Contact