WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) recently met with students from Springfield High School, the 2012 recipient for the Jefferson Awards’ Outstanding Service by a High School distinction. The school sent four representatives, Aaron Siedler, Joseph Wood, Julia Boehler, and Mackenzie Abel.

 “The Jefferson Awards honor everyday people who work hard to make our state and country a better place to call home,” Brown said. “Springfield High School students and teachers deserve enormous praise for their work in bettering America’s future.”

The Jefferson Award for Public Service was cofounded by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, Sam Bear, and U.S. Senator Robert Taft, Jr. to honor United States citizens for community and public service.