Sen. Brown Named Co-Chair of the Bipartisan Northeast-Midwest Senate Coalition

Brown will Co-Chair 18-State Coalition with Sen. Olympia Snowe

WASHINGTON, D.C. -U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) was recently named co-chair of the bipartisan Northeast-Midwest Senate Coalition. He will serve his one-year term alongside Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME).

"This is about ensuring that the federal government is responsive to states with like concerns, including the challenges of revitalizing the nation's manufacturing sector, bringing economic prosperity to struggling cities and rural areas, protecting the Great Lakes and other crucial waterways, and achieving parity in access to federal resources," Brown said. "The coalition provides an opportunity for Senators to set aside partisan differences and work for initiatives that affect all of our states. I look forward to leading the Northeast-Midwest Coalition with Sen. Snowe."

The Northeast-Midwest Senate Coalition is an organization of members of Congress from the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Wisconsin. It serves the Northeast-Midwest region by compiling, analyzing and distributing information; developing and mobilizing support for legislative proposals; advocating positions and issues; and providing representation on issues critical to constituents of those 18 states.

The Northeast-Midwest Congressional Coalition was formed in 1976 and the Northeast-Midwest Senate Coalition was created in 1978 as a sister organization. The coalition seeks to assist legislators in uniting the votes of their colleagues on bills that allocate federal funds to the region's states. Senate Coalition members also work to promote the economic well-being and environmental quality of the Northeast-Midwest region.

Issues of common concern to the region's Senators include home energy assistance to low-income families, assistance to small manufacturers, clean water revolving fund monies, community development block grants, weatherization assistance, watershed ecosystem restoration, and trade adjustment assistance.


Press Contact