Senators Brown and Portman, Representative Turner Applaud NCAA Decision to Keep First Four Tournament Games in Dayton Through 2018

In 2013, Tournament Generated More Than $4.5 Million in Revenue for Dayton-area Economy

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Sens. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) and Rob Portman (R-OH) and U.S. Rep. Michael Turner (OH-10) applauded a decision by the NCAA to select the University of Dayton as the host site for opening round games of the NCAA Men’s Division 1 basketball tournament through 2018.

“Today’s decision by the NCAA is a slam dunk for Dayton and basketball fans throughout Ohio,” Brown said. “For more than a decade, Dayton and the Miami Valley have been exceptional hosts of the opening round games. By continuing to start the tournament in Dayton, the NCAA selection committee has reaffirmed Dayton’s important place in the tournament.”

“I congratulate the University of Dayton on their selection as host for the NCAA Final Four games. Today’s announcement reaffirms what so many of us have long known – Dayton is a city that has so much to offer to visitors, and I am excited about the economic impact these games will bring to the region.” Portman said.

“Today, the NCAA recognized the importance of hosting the First Four in Dayton. Last week, I was proud to highlight Dayton’s distinct capabilities and to urge the NCAA to keep the opening of March Madness in Dayton. We are grateful that the NCAA agreed and that Dayton’s tradition of tremendous attendance, strong fan experience and record ratings for the NCAA’s First Four will continue,” Turner said

Earlier this month, Brown, Portman, and Turner sent a letter to NCAA President Dr. Mark Emmert urging the NCAA to select the University of Dayton as the host for the First Four games. The letter pointed to long-standing support of leaders and the community for the tournament. In 2013, the First Round games generated more than $4.5 million in revenue for the Dayton-area. A copy of that letter can be viewed here.


Press Contact

Meghan Dubyak/Ben Famous (Brown) 202-224-3978

Caitlin Conant/Michael Haidet (Portman): 202-224-5190

Annie Clark (Turner): 202-225-6465