USDA Declares Disaster Designation for Southwest Ohio

Butler and Hamilton County Residents May be Eligible for Emergency Funding

WASHINGTON, D.C. – New federal assistance is available for Ohio farmers and agricultural producers who experienced crop or production loss due to severe weather from Apr. 1 – July 7, 2011. U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) today announced that the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has determined a contiguous disaster designation for Butler and Hamilton Counties due to excessive rain and flash flooding.

"Ohio producers whose livelihood is threatened by no fault of their own deserve relief,” said Brown. “The USDA disaster designation is the right decision for Ohio’s farmers and for our state’s largest industry.”

With this disaster designation, Butler and Hamilton counties are eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA) for emergency loans (EM) as well as the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program. Farmers in the counties have eight months from the date of disaster declaration to apply for emergency loan assistance. For more information, contact a local FSA office or click here.

In March, Brown addressed the Ohio Farm Bureau in Washington, D.C, where he announced his plans for the ‘Grown in Ohio’ tour. At that speech, Brown outlined priorities for economic development and job growth in Ohio’s agricultural industry. Brown has held more than 190 roundtables throughout the state—including four ‘Grown in Ohio’ listening tour stops—and he is the first Ohioan to serve on both the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry and the Senate Appropriations Agriculture Subcommittee.


Press Contact

(202) 224-3978